Cheat Sheets For Learning

In my first semester of college, I took a Statistics course which required us to make a cheat sheet for each exam. My fraternity brother (who took the course the previous year) told me that the process of creating the cheat sheets is a good way to ingrain the knowledge into my head.

I liked the idea. So I applied that to all of my courses.

Cheat sheets allow me to search for specific topics in case I forgot. It’s a great way to measure your progress of how much you’ve learned if it’s cumulative. In terms of academia, they provide me an easy way for me to try to remember material before an exam (instead of reading and shuffling through 100s of pages of the textbook). I reminisce drinking 5 hour energy and reading my cheat sheets dozens of times over the night before each exam.

Throughout college, I tried selling my cheat sheets to my peers that were going to take the same classes as I have taken, but they didn’t want them! Instead, I sold oreos. That was successful.

Making cheat sheets especially applies to programming languages. In my past job, I created a SAS cheat sheet, which helped me impress my boss enough to think I was a reincarnation of Hermes. I copied and pasted code anytime I would learn something new, and then after the code I would give an explanation.

I thank my former self for making cheat sheets every day. Present Brad is proud of Past Brad.

Leave a Reply

