Signaling Value Through Your Own Personal Website

I don’t understand why people don’t create their own personal websites. So you might think that I’m a hypocrite, because in my last blog post, I highlighted the many struggles I had in building mine. However, $12 and 3.5 days later, I should appear to be more employable than without a website.

Websites are a project themselves. There are struggles along the way which require creativity and motivation, but as long as the finished product looks completed and professional, it can’t possibly do anything but help you. If I were hiring someone, I would want to see additional proof besides their resume that they have the skills and ability to help the company I’m in. And I’m not the only one who thinks this:

“According to Workfolio, a newly launched company that develops applications for professional visibility, 56% of all hiring managers are more impressed by a candidate’s personal website than any other personal branding tool—however, only 7% of job seekers actually have a personal website.”
Source: Forbes

Another key proponent of making a personal website is that you can track your visitors using Google Analytics (which is free). Half the companies that asked me for an interview for a summer internship went to my website. A secret, is that you can look at the Network Provider, and about half the time will show the company name. If no one is viewing your website, then perhaps your resume needs to be worked on (since no one is bothered to go to your website from the link you’d create on your resume). Don’t forget to filter out for bots too, so you know they are legitimate views.

Even though I don’t enjoy being active on social media, it is a requirement to build your own personal brand so that other people/companies can respect you even more.

 

Leave a Reply

