What Will Your Life Be In 5 Years?

This interview question stumps me. It’s just so hard to answer. I think back to the past 5 years…

I started college as a freshman, having almost no social skills. Or any skills in general. I was decent at math I guess. I would read a ton of articles and books in my senior year of high school on how to socialize with people, and I was able to start college on the right foot. I made a ton of mistakes, but overall I look back and think I was successful at making as many connections as I could with people. Academically, I proved myself by getting a solid GPA. I also was very active in my extracurricular activities.

I could not have EVER predicted what I am right now 5 years ago.

5 years before that (11-16ish) I didn’t do much except for study. It was really lame. I was very sensitive. And, it was like laying down in the sand and just letting the tidal wave of life going over me.

So when I get asked this question, I really hope that it’s the former rather than the latter, but it’s crazy to think I can predict even 5% of what my next 5 years are going to be like. I guess most people at my age would say marriage, kids, house?

Anyways, I can’t say this whole blog post to a recruiter. I would likely say that I’d want to hire and cultivate young talent in the big data field.

Leave a Reply

