Adults are Grown-Up Children

When I was younger, I would always listen to authority because I hated getting in trouble. There were times that adults (i.e. teachers mostly) would get mad at me for ridiculous things because I just didn’t know what to do in certain situations. This hurt my self-esteem when I was younger.

There were other kids that would get in trouble, but they didn’t care.

For example, I remember having a picture day my sophomore year of high school, and after getting my picture taken I went in the wrong direction to leave. I went up the steps and was going outside, and the guy working for the picture company was extremely ticked off. I still don’t get why. We weren’t hurting anyone, there were no signs I could notice, there were no lines or people in the way… What the heck is that guy’s problem?

I used to think that as an adult someday I would have an epiphany experience and just become an adult. No more kid-like behaviors or thoughts. In reality, I think that a lot of these adults who obsess over their authority never really grew up. And once they get that authority, they become despicable. Think Principle Skinner in The Simpsons.

While I never had that epiphany moment of feeling like an adult, around when I was 18 and went to college I started feeling like authority figures would talk to me as if I was an adult. Not always of course, but when I was in middle school and high school I was always talked down upon.

This also expands to learning knowledge, too. I believe that I am as intelligent as when I was 9 years old, it’s just that you learn the building blocks for subjects back then. Again, I thought that when I’d get older, I’d naturally become smarter.

Leave a Reply

